Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

The Outstanding Newly or Recently Qualified Maths Teacher

Practical strategies and ideas to enable you to become a strong member of the maths department

In-house
Open Course

Suitable for: Newly qualified maths teachers looking for inspiration and support in their role in UK secondary or special schools.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary

Course Reference: 7648WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

Ignore the horror stories. Most of the time, teaching is a wonderful and fulfilling job – but those first few years there is a steep learning curve and you’ll need a lot of support. This motivational one day course is full of practical ideas to help you address the many concerns of the early years in the job – work-life balance, behaviour, finding your niche – so you can be free to inspire your students and develop into an outstanding teacher.

  • Establish yourself quickly in your new role and forge strong relationships with your colleagues
  • Develop positive, pupil-centred strategies to tackle poor behaviour in the classroom
  • Understand what it means for learning to be Outstanding in maths according to Ofsted and how your teaching can aspire to this
  • Plan successfully for your future, identifying appropriate development opportunities to help you continually improve

Sessions

Finding your feet in the early years
  • Responding to the challenges of the early years in teaching
  • Building strong, open relationships with colleagues and managers and working successfully within the culture and ethos of your school
  • Developing an effective home-school partnership with your students’ parents and carers
Getting behaviour under control
  • Creating a positive and engaging classroom environment
  • Setting clear expectations and how to respond to inappropriate behaviour
  • What to do when the strategies you’ve been taught don’t work
Aspiring to outstanding
  • Placing outstanding learning and progress at the heart of your classroom environment
  • Planning for engaging learning without the heartache and late nights
  • What makes for effective assessment? Useful strategies for managing marking, record keeping and reports
A successful future ahead
  • Taking your first step on the career ladder – planning for your progression and development as a teacher
  • How to get more involved in the life of the school and take on more responsibility
  • Where to get support for those inevitable bumps in the road
Great information, tailored to the needs of the participants. Gregory McGuinness, Priory School
Outstanding course leader. Learnt a lot from this day and would definitely come to another session. Sinead Prendiville, St Mark's Catholic School
It was really useful and informative, and it was tailored really well to what we needed. Eleanor Kelly, Ashton Under Lyme Sixth Form College
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Wed 9th Mar 2016

Reserve Book

Tue 12th Jul 2016

Reserve Book

Tue 27th Sep 2016

Reserve Book
BRISTOL

Wed 4th May 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 7th Nov 2016

Reserve Book
CAMBRIDGE

Fri 18th Mar 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 13th Jun 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 10th Oct 2016

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Wed 18th May 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 14th Nov 2016

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Fri 4th Mar 2016

Reserve Book

Thu 16th Jun 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 3rd Oct 2016

Reserve Book
LIVERPOOL

Thu 21st Apr 2016

Reserve Book

Fri 9th Dec 2016

Reserve Book
LONDON

Mon 14th Mar 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 4th Jul 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 10th Oct 2016

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Thu 14th Apr 2016

Reserve Book

Thu 22nd Sep 2016

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Thu 9th Jun 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 19th Sep 2016

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Mon 21st Mar 2016

Reserve Book

Tue 28th Jun 2016

Reserve Book

Thu 6th Oct 2016

Reserve Book
SOUTHAMPTON

Mon 29th Feb 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 20th Jun 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 10th Oct 2016

Reserve Book
< Back