Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

The Outstanding Newly or Recently Qualified Languages Teacher

Practical strategies and ideas to enable you to become a strong member of the Languages department

In-house
Open Course

Suitable for: Newly qualified languages teachers looking for inspiration and support in their role in UK secondary or special schools.

Course Reference: 7751WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now
Ignore the horror stories. Most of the time, teaching is a wonderful and fulfilling job – but those first few years there is a steep learning curve and you’ll need a lot of support. This motivational one day course is full of practical ideas to help you address the many concerns of the early years in the job – work-life balance, behaviour, finding your niche – so you can be free to inspire your students and develop into an outstanding teacher.

This course will enable you to

  • Establish yourself quickly in your new role and forge strong relationships with your colleagues
  • Develop positive, pupil-centred strategies to tackle poor behaviour in the classroom
  • Understand what it means for learning to be Outstanding in languages according to Ofsted and how your teaching can aspire to this
  • Plan successfully for your future, identifying appropriate development opportunities to help you continually improve

Sessions

Finding your feet in the early years
  • Responding to the challenges of the early years in teaching
  • Building strong, open relationships with colleagues and managers and working successfully within the culture and ethos of your school
  • Developing an effective home-school partnership with your students’ parents and carers
Getting behaviour under control
  • Creating a positive and engaging classroom environment
  • Setting clear expectations and how to respond to inappropriate behaviour
  • What to do when the strategies you’ve been taught don’t work
Aspiring to outstanding
  • Placing outstanding learning and progress at the heart of your classroom environment
  • Planning for engaging learning without the heartache and late nights
  • What makes for effective assessment? Useful strategies for managing marking, record keeping and reports
A successful future ahead
  • Taking your first step on the career ladder – planning for your progression and development as a teacher
  • How to get more involved in the life of the school and take on more responsibility
  • Where to get support for those inevitable bumps in the road
Very targeted to my needs. I feel that I leave the training with concrete, helpful tools. Charlotte Wery, The Manchester Grammar School
Very practical up to date ideas and very relevant too. Vicki Hampshire, Sir Frederic Osborn School
Really useful ideas - will be using some this week. Very helpful and friendly leader. Emilie Holland, The Gregg School
Brilliant fresh ideas to improve my students progression in class. Jessica Sims, Bacon's College
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Monday 2nd Mar 2015

Reserve Book

Wednesday 29th Apr 2015

Reserve Book
BRISTOL

Wednesday 25th Mar 2015

Reserve Book

Tuesday 9th Jun 2015

Reserve Book
CAMBRIDGE

Friday 6th Feb 2015

Reserve Book

Friday 5th Jun 2015

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Tuesday 3rd Feb 2015

Reserve Book

Tuesday 16th Jun 2015

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Thursday 19th Mar 2015

Reserve Book

Monday 11th May 2015

Reserve Book
LIVERPOOL

Monday 29th Jun 2015

Reserve Book
LONDON

Monday 26th Jan 2015

Reserve Book

Thursday 12th Mar 2015

Reserve Book

Friday 26th Jun 2015

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Thursday 29th Jan 2015

Reserve Book

Monday 13th Jul 2015

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Thursday 5th Mar 2015

Reserve Book

Monday 27th Apr 2015

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Thursday 26th Feb 2015

Reserve Book

Wednesday 22nd Apr 2015

Reserve Book
SOUTHAMPTON

Friday 12th Jun 2015

Reserve Book
< Back