Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Child Protection: Roles and Responsibilities of the Designated Safeguarding Lead

Understand current legislation and how to keep your students safe

In-house
Open Course

Suitable for: Designated safeguarding leads and their deputies, governors with child protection responsibilities. Leaders will be up to date with national legislation and be enabled, with resources, to effectively fulfil their duties.

Course Reference: 8050WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now
The role of the designated safeguarding lead is vital in safeguarding children’s wellbeing and carries a lot of responsibility with it. The very latest legislation and guidance will be analysed, with practical advice in appropriate and sensitive implementation of all aspects of this key role.

This course will enable you to

  • Understand your role as a delegated safeguarding lead
  • Review key legislation and the relevant sections for schools
  • identify what to include in your child protection policy
  • Establish where to seek guidance and support
  • Handle allegations and complaints

Sessions

Key legislation and statutory guidance
  • An overview of the changing emphasis in child protection: from a compliance culture to a school that makes a difference
  • Understand the key legislation and guidance for schools in working with other agencies
  • An analysis of the latest changes for schools and where to find key information
The role of the designated safeguarding lead
  • The referral process in full: initial decisions, how to gain support and possible outcomes
  • Understand the legislation and the training requirements for your staff and the resources needed
  • Raising community awareness of child protection including the school policy, transfer procedures and keeping parents informed
Disclosures and consequences
  • Guidance for leaders and staff in handling disclosures effectively and sensitively
  • Identifying the barriers to disclosure and how they might be overcome
  • The procedures for dealing with allegations against members of staff
The role in context
  • An opportunity to reflect on your own needs in relation to the role and the school’s needs
  • Ensuring school documentation is suitable and effective
  • Planning immediate actions, longer term requirements and resource needs
Best course I've attended in ages. Daniel Brewer, Alcester Grammar School
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Fri 10th Jul 2015

Fri 4th Dec 2015

Wed 2nd Mar 2016

BRISTOL

Fri 5th Jun 2015

Thu 1st Oct 2015

CAMBRIDGE

Mon 6th Jul 2015

Mon 16th Nov 2015

CARDIFF

Thu 15th Oct 2015

Wed 20th Jan 2016

LEEDS

Mon 29th Jun 2015

Mon 21st Sep 2015

Thu 28th Jan 2016

LIVERPOOL

Fri 20th Nov 2015

Tue 2nd Feb 2016

LONDON

Mon 23rd Nov 2015

Tue 15th Mar 2016

MANCHESTER

Fri 6th Nov 2015

Tue 8th Mar 2016

NEWCASTLE

Tue 16th Jun 2015

Mon 14th Sep 2015

Thu 14th Jan 2016

NOTTINGHAM

Fri 13th Nov 2015

Mon 25th Jan 2016

SOUTHAMPTON

Mon 22nd Jun 2015

Mon 9th Nov 2015

Fri 11th Mar 2016

< Back