Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Child Protection: Roles and Responsibilities of the Designated Safeguarding Lead

Understand current legislation and how to keep your students safe

In-house
Open Course

Suitable for: Designated Safeguarding Leads and their Deputies, Governors with child protection responsibilities. Leaders will be up to date with national legislation and be enabled, with resources, to effectively fulfil their duties.

Course Reference: 8050WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now
The role of the designated safeguarding lead is vital in safeguarding children’s wellbeing and carries a lot of responsibility with it. The very latest legislation and guidance will be analysed, with practical advice in appropriate and sensitive implementation of all aspects of this key role.

This course will enable you to

  • Understand your role as a delegated safeguarding lead
  • Review key legislation and the relevant sections for schools
  • identify what to include in your child protection policy
  • Establish where to seek guidance and support
  • Handle allegations and complaints

Sessions

Key legislation and statutory guidance
  • An overview of the changing emphasis in child protection: from a compliance culture to a school that makes a difference
  • Understand the key legislation and guidance for schools in working with other agencies
  • An analysis of the latest changes for schools and where to find key information
The role of the designated safeguarding lead
  • The referral process in full: initial decisions, how to gain support and possible outcomes
  • Understand the legislation and the training requirements for your staff and the resources needed
  • Raising community awareness of child protection including the school policy, transfer procedures and keeping parents informed
Disclosures and consequences
  • Guidance for leaders and staff in handling disclosures effectively and sensitively
  • Identifying the barriers to disclosure and how they might be overcome
  • The procedures for dealing with allegations against members of staff
The role in context
  • An opportunity to reflect on your own needs in relation to the role and the school’s needs
  • Ensuring school documentation is suitable and effective
  • Planning immediate actions, longer term requirements and resource needs
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Thursday 15th Jan 2015

Reserve Book

Friday 10th Jul 2015

Reserve Book
BRISTOL

Tuesday 10th Feb 2015

Reserve Book

Friday 5th Jun 2015

Reserve Book
CAMBRIDGE

Wednesday 4th Feb 2015

Reserve Book

Monday 6th Jul 2015

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Friday 30th Jan 2015

Reserve Book

Friday 12th Jun 2015

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Wednesday 4th Mar 2015

Reserve Book

Monday 29th Jun 2015

Reserve Book
LIVERPOOL

Friday 23rd Jan 2015

Reserve Book

Wednesday 6th May 2015

Reserve Book
LONDON

Monday 9th Mar 2015

Reserve Book

Friday 15th May 2015

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Monday 16th Mar 2015

Reserve Book

Friday 24th Apr 2015

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Friday 6th Feb 2015

Reserve Book

Tuesday 16th Jun 2015

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Thursday 12th Mar 2015

Reserve Book

Tuesday 19th May 2015

Reserve Book
SOUTHAMPTON

Monday 2nd Feb 2015

Reserve Book

Monday 22nd Jun 2015

Reserve Book
< Back