Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Child Protection: Roles and Responsibilities of the Designated Safeguarding Lead

Understand current legislation and how to keep your students safe

In-house
Open Course

Suitable for: Designated safeguarding leads and their deputies, governors with child protection responsibilities. Leaders will be up to date with national legislation and be enabled, with resources, to effectively fulfil their duties.

Phases suitable for:

  • Primary
  • Secondary

Course Reference: 8050WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

The role of the designated safeguarding lead is vital in safeguarding children’s wellbeing and carries a lot of responsibility with it. The very latest legislation and guidance will be analysed, with practical advice in appropriate and sensitive implementation of all aspects of this key role.

  • Understand your role as a delegated safeguarding lead
  • Review key legislation and the relevant sections for schools
  • identify what to include in your child protection policy
  • Establish where to seek guidance and support
  • Handle allegations and complaints

Sessions

Key legislation and statutory guidance
  • An overview of the changing emphasis in child protection: from a compliance culture to a school that makes a difference
  • Understand the key legislation and guidance for schools in working with other agencies
  • An analysis of the latest changes for schools and where to find key information
The role of the designated safeguarding lead
  • The referral process in full: initial decisions, how to gain support and possible outcomes
  • Understand the legislation and the training requirements for your staff and the resources needed
  • Raising community awareness of child protection including the school policy, transfer procedures and keeping parents informed
Disclosures and consequences
  • Guidance for leaders and staff in handling disclosures effectively and sensitively
  • Identifying the barriers to disclosure and how they might be overcome
  • The procedures for dealing with allegations against members of staff
The role in context
  • An opportunity to reflect on your own needs in relation to the role and the school’s needs
  • Ensuring school documentation is suitable and effective
  • Planning immediate actions, longer term requirements and resource needs
Excellent coverage. A lot covered breadth and depth. Excellent knowledge experienced of presenter. Rachel Tordoff, Allestree Woodlands School
Best course I've attended in ages. Daniel Brewer, Alcester Grammar School
Filter
City
Get a free Raising Achievement pocketbook when you book on a date with a purple book button
BIRMINGHAM

Wed 2nd Mar 2016

Reserve Book

Thu 7th Jul 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 3rd Oct 2016

Reserve Book
BRISTOL

Wed 11th May 2016

Reserve Book

Wed 23rd Nov 2016

Reserve Book
CAMBRIDGE

Tue 21st Jun 2016

Reserve Book

Thu 10th Nov 2016

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Wed 27th Apr 2016

Reserve Book

Wed 7th Dec 2016

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Fri 6th May 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 28th Nov 2016

Reserve Book
LIVERPOOL

Thu 16th Jun 2016

Reserve Book

Wed 28th Sep 2016

Reserve Book
LONDON

Tue 15th Mar 2016

Reserve Book

Fri 24th Jun 2016

Reserve Book

Thu 10th Nov 2016

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Tue 8th Mar 2016

Reserve Book

Thu 30th Jun 2016

Reserve Book

Wed 12th Oct 2016

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Fri 22nd Apr 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 14th Nov 2016

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Mon 27th Jun 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 19th Sep 2016

Reserve Book
SOUTHAMPTON

Fri 11th Mar 2016

Reserve Book

Mon 4th Jul 2016

Reserve Book

Thu 10th Nov 2016

Reserve Book
< Back