Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Outstanding Learning in the Primary Science Curriculum

Stimulating children’s curiosity and starting from where children are ‘at’

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Subject leaders and teachers.

Phases suitable for:

  • Primary

Course Reference: 1158WW
Price: £269.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

This course considers the most recent evidence for what makes outstanding science teaching which engages learners and fosters children’s curiosity. It starts from the premise that the purpose of science education is to nurture the ‘scientists’ within learners.

  • Identify features that contribute to outstanding learning in science
  • Consider the integral role played by the ’Working Scientifically’ Programme of Study in the science curriculum
  • Identify engaging starting points in science investigations that lead on from pupils’ questions, increase active engagement and build pupils’ curiosity in the world around them
  • Consider what evidence of outstanding learning in science looks like
  • Develop assessment strategies that enable teachers to identify and use children’s current understanding as a starting point upon which learning can be built

Sessions

The national context and further afield
  • The national curriculum for science
  • The Ofsted perspective of science
  • Science education in a global context and the imperative for teaching
Starting points in science
  • Practical starting points – raising questions
  • Time for exploration and next steps
  • Starting points throughout the curriculum
Evidence of learning and progress in science
  • Practical investigations – opportunities and challenges
  • A range of outcomes – what does good look like?
  • Supporting pupils’ recording of science investigations
Assessment for progress in science
  • Using powerful questions to start from where children are at
  • Assessment without levels
  • Authentic scientific experiences
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Mon 9th Dec 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 5th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 5th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 14th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 19th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Thu 17th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Thu 19th Sep 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 12th Feb 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 2nd Jul 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 6th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 22nd Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Tue 20th Apr 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Tue 24th Sep 2019

Reserve Book

Tue 28th Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 19th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 21st Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 13th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Thu 15th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Mon 14th Oct 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 13th Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 13th May 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 10th Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 5th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 25th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
< Back