Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Outstanding Learning in the Primary D&T Curriculum

Tools, knowledge and information you need to become more effective, more confident and more efficient at teaching Design and Technology at KS1 and KS2

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Teachers and middle leaders.

Phases suitable for:

  • Primary

Course Reference: 1162WW
Price: £269.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

All maintained primary schools in England are required to follow the National Curriculum, which includes Design and Technology as a compulsory subject at Key Stages 1 and 2. Design & Technology is about making things that function and have a purpose. It is an inspiring, rigorous and practical subject which prepares all young people to live and work in the designed and made world.

  • Understand the context for the D&T PoS
  • Understand the key messages of the National Curriculum for D&T
  • Understand the principles of curriculum planning and the challenges facing the Primary D&T teacher, including assessment
  • Develop project work and plan for the long, medium and short term
  • Examine Health & Safety, risk assessment and the use of tools and equipment safely

Sessions

Examining the context for the PoS and defining the primary role
  • Design & Technology — a difficult journey
  • Defining the subject leader
  • Management skills survey
The key messages of the National Curriculum for D&T
  • Structure
  • The new orders — taking a closer look
  • Frequently asked questions about changes to D&T curriculum
Curriculum planning, assessment and the challenges facing Primary D&T teachers
  • Challenges in KS1 and KS2
  • Assessment
  • Curriculum planning
Health & Safety, risk assessment, tools and equipment
  • Recommended documentation
  • Tool safety
  • Adhesives
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Fri 29th Mar 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 3rd Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Tue 12th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
EXETER

Fri 28th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 9th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Mon 10th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 2nd Oct 2019

Reserve Book
LONDON

Tue 25th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 25th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Thu 20th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 17th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Thu 4th Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 25th Sep 2019

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Wed 26th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Tue 19th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
< Back