Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Outstanding Learning in the Primary History Curriculum

Practical examples to help you and your colleagues develop your history curriculum

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Teachers and middle leaders.

Phases suitable for:

  • Primary

Course Reference: 1164WW
Price: £269.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

This course will enable you to plan, deliver and monitor an outstanding history curriculum. On the whole, both children and teachers like history, but sometimes teachers feel unsure of how best to teach it. History is not just about content; it is also about skills and concepts.

  • Plan a coherent history curriculum to suit the needs of your school
  • Understand the role of skills and concepts in history teaching and learning
  • Effectively plan and deliver outstanding history lessons
  • Monitor history provision in your school

Sessions

Constructing your history programme
  • The 'purpose of study' statement
  • What exactly do I have to teach?
  • Which content options make the most coherent curriculum?
Integrating skills and concepts into history teaching and learning
  • Why history skills are important
  • Using the evidence
  • Interpretations in history
Planning outstanding history lessons
  • What makes an outstanding lesson - some practical examples
  • Linking with other subjects
  • Planning your own history enquiry
Monitoring and leading history effectively
  • What does it mean to get better at history?
  • Supporting colleagues to plan and deliver history effectively
  • Reviewing your history curriculum
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Tue 26th Mar 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 26th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 2nd Dec 2019

Reserve Book
EXETER

Tue 11th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 14th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Mon 17th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 2nd Oct 2019

Reserve Book
LONDON

Thu 4th Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 11th Dec 2019

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Tue 14th May 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 20th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Fri 28th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 25th Sep 2019

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Mon 1st Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 11th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
< Back