Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Health and Safety in the Science Laboratory

Taking the risk out of exciting practicals in the science lab

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Science teachers, technicians and support staff who want to ensure that rigorous health and safety procedures are implemented in the school science laboratories.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary
  • Further Education

Course Reference: 6882WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

This course is designed for technicians and teachers who work in laboratories. It will provide an essential introduction to individual responsibilities under health and safety law, as well as COSHH, controlling hazards in a laboratory environment and assessing risk. It will give you the knowledge and confidence to tackle even the most demanding practicals.

  • Understanding the law and your responsibilities
  • Controlling hazardous substances in the lab (COSHH)
  • Assessing and managing risk in the laboratory
  • Manage Health and Safety in the Science Department
  • Implement strategies to prevent common accidents
  • Carrying and lifting safely in the laboratory
  • Making your lab safer by developing a personal action plan

Sessions

Understanding the law and your responsibilities
  • Understanding some of the terms, acronyms and organisations associated with Health and Safety
  • Roles and responsibilities – who does what
  • Criminal and civil action – what are the penalties
Controlling hazardous substances in the lab (COSHH)
  • Understanding the COSHH Regulations
  • Understanding which substances are banned
Assessing and managing risk
  • The 5 steps to risk assessment
  • Reducing risk
  • Customising risk assessments
Implementing strategies in Health and Safety in Science
  • Key issues in avoiding accidents
  • Dealing with accidents RIDDOR
  • Manual handling
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Fri 5th Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 12th Dec 2019

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Thu 13th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 18th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
EXETER

Fri 21st Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 30th Sep 2019

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Fri 10th May 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 18th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
LONDON

Mon 24th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 5th Dec 2019

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Wed 12th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 10th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Thu 20th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 4th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Fri 28th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 28th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
< Back