Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Advanced Behaviour Management for Newly and Recently Qualified Teachers

Achieving excellent behaviour for learning in your classroom

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: This course will benefit newly and recently qualified teachers by equipping them with the tools they need to manage students’ behaviour and lead an effective learning environment in which all their students are engaged, challenged and make progress.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary
  • Further Education

Course Reference: 7569WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

This course combines the latest in behaviour management theory with a series of practical strategies that can be put into immediate use in your classroom. It includes advice on preventative behaviour management (how to engage all your students to avoid poor behaviour), corrective behaviour management (what to do when students misbehave), and supportive behaviour management (how to teach your students to be emotionally intelligent to avoid poor behaviour in the future).

  • Move beyond basic compliance to genuine, embedded behaviour for learning
  • Develop a range of practical strategies for managing behaviour in the classroom, and identify the most appropriate strategy in a variety of different situations
  • Understand why students misbehave and tackle five common misbehaviours
  • Get the balance right between praise and sanctions and differentiate your approach to behaviour management for different types of students at different ages
  • Manage and reduce low-level disruptive behaviour, without letting it disrupt the flow of your teaching

Sessions

Practical strategies for establishing an effective learning environment
  • The 3Rs of behaviour management teacher-training: routines; responses; and relationships
  • Modelling the 3 pillars of behaviour management: openness; consistency; and fairness
  • Establishing the 6 principles of behaviour management in your classroom
Why students misbehave and how we can tackle it
  • Why don’t students always do as they’re told?
  • The importance of differentiation, and stretch and challenge
  • The 5Ds – tackling 5 common misbehaviours
Differentiating your approach to behaviour management
  • Every student is unique - and so your behaviour management strategy should be
  • Making rewards and sanctions work for every student
  • Delivering personalised learning – AfL in practice
Practical strategies for improving behaviour in your classroom tomorrow
  • The importance of rules and routines, regularly reinforced and repeated, to tackle low-level disruption
  • Seating plans, lesson beginnings and endings, transitions and classroom discussions, and high expectations
  • Top tips for thriving and surviving your NQT/RQT year
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Tue 26th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 10th Feb 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 15th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 19th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 3rd Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Tue 15th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Thu 12th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 5th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 9th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 5th Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Tue 27th Apr 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Tue 19th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 23rd Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 29th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 18th Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 18th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 14th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Wed 29th Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 5th May 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 6th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 28th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 17th May 2021

Reserve Book
< Back