Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Leading a Successful English Department

Maximise student achievement by running a successful English Department

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Subject leaders and aspiring subject leaders of English looking for new ideas for leading and managing a successful English department that will drive outstanding levels of learning.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary

Course Reference: 7599WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

As the Head of Department of English or Curriculum Leader, discover how to cultivate a climate for effective learning. This course will enable you to plan and lead learning to an outstanding level. It will also help you to develop professionally and succeed as a Head of Department or Curriculum Leader by encouraging you to share good practice with likeminded individuals. Master techniques to foster a good working relationship with colleagues and manage a supportive team.

  • Understand what it means for leadership and management in English to be successful according to Ofsted
  • Learn how to truly lead the learning in English creating an environment and curriculum that supports outstanding learning and progress
  • Develop pupil-centred strategies to ensure you can engage your learners to maximise student achievement
  • Motivate and manage your colleagues effectively, developing them into a strong teaching team

Sessions

You and your department
  • Understanding your role
  • Departmental self-evaluation
  • Vision
The Route to improvement
  • Goal setting
  • Action planning
  • Managing change
Leading Teaching and Learning
  • Monitoring: lesson observations
  • Monitoring: work scrutiny
  • Modelling
Motivating and managing teams
  • Supporting professional development
  • Managing challenging staff
  • Effective communications and meetings
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Tue 19th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 6th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 26th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 30th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 5th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 30th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Mon 16th Sep 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 9th Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 18th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 15th Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 25th Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 14th May 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Fri 27th Sep 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 30th Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 7th Jul 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 1st Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 19th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 18th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Thu 12th Dec 2019

Reserve Book

Tue 17th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 8th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 14th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 1st Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 12th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
< Back