Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Behaviour Management for Teaching Assistants and Cover Supervisors

Develop your classroom leadership skills to create the positive learning climate necessary for effective and successful learning

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Secondary school cover supervisors, Higher Level Teaching Assistants and Teaching Assistants. This course will equip support staff with effective practical strategies to successfully and skilfully manage classroom behaviour to create a positive learning climate.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary

Course Reference: 7629WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

Developing a purposeful learning atmosphere is essential in order for effective pupil progress to occur. This can provide all sorts of challenges and issues for non-teaching staff who may be responsible for leading learning in the absence of the regular classroom teacher, or supporting the classroom teacher with students demonstrating challenging behaviours or special educational needs.

  • Become a confident classroom leader
  • Develop behaviour management skills to create positive learning climates
  • Be able to use the language of ‘choice’ and ‘consequence’ to manage pupil behaviours
  • To identify and deal effectively with low level disruption
  • Develop some specific strategies to manage the ‘noisy’ class
  • Develop strategies to deal with challenging behaviours, including SEN, and avoid confrontations

Sessions

Effective Classroom leadership
  • What is your role in the classroom?
  • Strategies to develop confident leadership
  • How to create a positive classroom climate
Getting the basics right
  • How to get a settled focused class
  • Communicating your expectations with students
  • Helping pupils ‘choose’ the right behaviour
The ‘noisy’ class
  • What is acceptable behaviour and what’s not?
  • Getting the ‘noisy class’ into the room
  • Keeping the ‘noisy class’ on task
Challenging Behaviours
  • Practical steps to help manage pupils with SEN
  • Managing confrontation
  • How to deal with common behaviour issues
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Tue 25th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 14th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Mon 10th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 4th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
EXETER

Thu 6th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 14th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Fri 17th May 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 21st Nov 2019

Reserve Book
LONDON

Fri 29th Mar 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 3rd Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 19th Sep 2019

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Mon 17th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 18th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Fri 21st Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 5th Dec 2019

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Mon 24th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 28th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
< Back