Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Stretching More Able Students in Art

Implement strategies to improve the progress and achievement of more able Art students, in high ability and mixed ability groups

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Art teachers and heads of department hoping to maximise the achievement of gifted and talented students at KS3 and 4.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary

Course Reference: 7826WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

New and experienced Art teachers will benefit from attending this course. It will enable you to support the most abled students in attaining outstanding learning and progression in both mixed ability and high ability groups. Heads of department and other middle leaders will also benefit, as well as teaching assistants assigned to support the learning of the more able students in art.

  • Plan effective, differentiated art lessons that challenge your most able learners
  • Devise extension activities that combine both breadth and depth
  • Develop personal learning and thinking skills
  • Support able learners through classroom talk and questioning
  • Set high expectations and monitor progress through effective assessment
  • Tackle the underachievement of more able students
  • Enrich learning outside the classroom with some engaging and practical ideas

Sessions

Identifying our more able students
  • What identifies a student as gifted or talented in art
  • Watching for those key characteristics masking high ability
  • Where do teachers look for evidence of a student being high ability?
Providing challenge for more able students in art
  • Supporting high ability learning through effective questioning
  • Developed highly effective strategies to encourage creative thinking
  • Explore the use of student choice in facilitating higher level independent learning and engagement
Grace, differentiation, adaptation and extension
  • Applying the ‘Grace’ model to supporting very able learners
  • Developing differentiation techniques to add breadth and depth to learning
  • Models of outstanding practice to adapt and extend lesson plans
Monitoring and evaluation
  • Monitoring progress to inform learning and teaching for our more able students
  • Highly effective assessment techniques to challenge and extend learning
  • Evaluating impact and planning future learning
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Mon 3rd Feb 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 27th Apr 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 12th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 29th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Thu 8th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Tue 21st Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 6th May 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 18th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 9th Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 5th May 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Thu 5th Dec 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 27th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 2nd Jul 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 18th Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 4th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Tue 15th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Mon 2nd Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 19th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 10th Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 18th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 28th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
< Back