Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Outstanding Learning and Progress in Maths

Going one step further to deliver lessons that your students and Ofsted will love in maths

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Maths teachers and leaders aiming to maximise teaching and learning of students at key stages 3 & 4.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary

Course Reference: 7868WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

This course considers the most recent evidence for what makes outstanding mathematics teaching from a range of perspectives. It introduces participants to contexts for mathematics which engage pupils in deep learning experiences, both challenging them and enabling them to refine and master mathematical processes and content..

  • Identify features that contribute to outstanding learning and mastery of mathematics
  • Consider the integral role played by the aims of ‘fluency, reasoning and problem solving’ throughout the mathematics curriculum and how to ensure they are delivered through teaching
  • Consider what evidence of outstanding learning in mathematics looks like
  • Consider effective assessment of mathematics in relation to a curriculum without levels
  • Identify structures for activities which will facilitate high quality formative assessment and surface misconceptions
  • Explore models for making mathematics meaningful, authentic and relevant
  • Consider the mathematical skills that pupils will need to be equipped with in order to function effectively in their future lives and the contexts for learning within which those skills might be developed

Sessions

The national context and further afield
  • The national curriculum for mathematics
  • The Ofsted perspective of mathematics
  • Mathematics education in a global context and the imperative for teaching
Making meaning of maths and mastery
  • What is mastery in mathematics?
  • Time for exploration, a problem solving task
  • Enriching and deepening understanding
Assessment of mathematics and surfacing misconceptions
  • Assessment without levels
  • A range of outcomes – what does outstanding look like?
  • Formative assessment in mathematics and surfacing misconceptions
Exploring relevance — the relationship with purposeful struggling
  • Struggling with purpose or a hopeless struggle?
  • Authentic, real-life problem solving
  • Making maths meaningful and relevant – preparing pupils for their future
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Mon 9th Dec 2019

Reserve Book

Tue 17th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 8th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 15th Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 28th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 28th Apr 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Tue 26th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 5th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 3rd Jul 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 20th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 3rd Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 25th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Tue 24th Sep 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 27th Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 20th May 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 10th Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 22nd Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 12th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Thu 7th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 27th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 24th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 1st Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 11th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Tue 15th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
< Back