Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Raising the Performance of the Low Ability English Learner

Maximising the achievement of all pupils

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: English teachers, heads of department and learning support staff who are looking for practical strategies and ideas to both engage and challenge this specific group of learners. This interactive day will model good practice and delegates will leave with a renewed confidence and a raised expectation of what these learners can achieve.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary

Course Reference: 8108WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

This practical course will give teachers many strategies and ideas to both engage and challenge this specific group of learners. Teachers will focus on activities which are designed to make the most of cognitive ability whilst supporting the learner in tackling insecure skills. This fun-filled day will model good practice and delegates will leave with a renewed confidence and a raised expectation of what these learners can achieve.

  • Understand the issues for those struggling in English an adapt your curriculum accordingly
  • Focus on tasks that demonstrate the importance of English in the wider world
  • Using formative assessment to improve confidence
  • Use a range of practical ideas to promote effective learning

Sessions

Key issues: Outstanding lessons for low ability learners
  • Dispelling myths about what makes a good lesson
  • Identifying the need and adapting the curriculum
  • Getting the year/key stage off to a good start - effective transitions. Have clear focus for both key stage 3 and key stage 4
Teaching approaches – teach more by teaching less
  • Adding depth rather than acceleration – embedding learning
  • AfL, marginal gains and flexible planning to motivate learners whilst encouraging independent learning and creativity
  • Getting the pace right – effective group work and good use of speaking and listening
Importance of English – GCSE and beyond
  • Practical tasks with outcomes beyond the classroom
  • The flight path to a C grade/ level 4 or 5 (new GCSE’s) at least
  • Engaging with writers ideas and non-fiction issues
Whole school literacy
  • Engaging learners in practical writing tasks
  • Engaging SPaG lessons in English and across the curriculum
  • Encouraging a love of reading
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Wed 19th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 26th Sep 2019

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Mon 1st Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 11th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
EXETER

Tue 18th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 30th Sep 2019

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Thu 27th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 4th Dec 2019

Reserve Book
LONDON

Mon 10th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Tue 19th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Thu 4th Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 16th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Fri 7th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 13th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Wed 12th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 3rd Oct 2019

Reserve Book
< Back