Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Maximising Progress in A Level Biology

Supporting students to meet and exceed target grades

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: This course is aimed at new and experienced teachers of A level biology as well as heads of biology.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary
  • Further Education

Course Reference: 8300WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

This course explores strategies to support all A level biology students in making excellent progress in their studies. The new specifications present an ideal opportunity to apply proven and well-exemplified methods to ensure examination success. The teaching and learning approaches are practical and easy to implement and will ensure that you are prepared for the changes.

  • Introduce teaching and learning approaches that make progress and differentiation explicit
  • Promote independent learning in A level biology students
  • Examine resources to develop data analysis skills which can be immediately used in the classroom
  • Embed revision into the scheme of work to improve success in linear examinations
  • Use examination style questions in a variety of ways to ensure your students progress
  • Explore ideas to motivate students' to make progress

Sessions

Students taking responsibility for their learning and progress
  • How to help students research effectively
  • Practical ideas for independent learning in A level topics to boost progress
  • An introduction to Structure of Observed Learning Outcomes taxonomy as a strategy to demonstrate progress and differentiation
Supporting students with data analysis skills
  • Explicit teaching and learning strategies to improve data skills in A level biology
  • Active approaches to teaching tables and graphs
  • 10 resources to take away and use in the classroom tomorrow
Preparing for examination success
  • Hints and tips for active revision to use from the beginning of the biology course
  • Improving literacy skills to access longer answer examination questions
  • Using a variety of approaches to embed examination question practice
Motivating students to learn and progress
  • Explore factors that motivate students to be successful in A level biology
  • Experience a variety of active learning resources to engage and inspire students
  • Using ICT/mobile technologies to enhance A level biology
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Wed 23rd Oct 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 24th Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 22nd Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 24th Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 25th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 25th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Wed 25th Sep 2019

Mon 13th Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 1st May 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 5th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 16th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Thu 17th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Wed 26th Feb 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 8th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 3rd Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 3rd Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 7th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Tue 26th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 23rd Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 10th Jul 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 11th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 5th Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 24th May 2021

Reserve Book
< Back