Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

The Secrets to Success: Metacognition and Self-Regulation

Get students to think more deeply about their learning and manage their own motivation for proven and demonstrable results

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Teachers, subject leaders and school managers who want to improve learning and progress of students.

Phases suitable for:

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • Further Education

Course Reference: 8364WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

Metacognition and self-regulation are the most effective, best value for money and best researched teaching and learning techniques currently available! The Educational Endowment Foundation finds that these techniques have ‘consistently high levels of impact, with pupils making an average of eight months’ additional progress’. They also state that ‘the evidence indicates that teaching these strategies can be particularly effective for low achieving and older pupils’. In addition, studies show that this a good way to ‘close the gap’ as disadvantaged learners tend to benefit disproportionately. Participants will leave ready to help students think more deeply about their learning and manage their own motivation for improved academic and wellbeing outcomes.

  • Evidence Base – what are metacognition and self-regulation and why should your school adopt them?
  • Plan Learning – strategies to enable students to identify the different ways they could approach learning overall and to select the most appropriate method for a particular activity
  • Monitor Learning – strategies to build student ability to identify learning challenges and obstacles in order to establish the key steps in task completion
  • Evaluate Learning - strategies to encourage students to consider how they would improve their approach next time
  • Build learner confidence, resilience, self-esteem and character
  • Boost progress for all – and, particularly, for disadvantaged, low achieving and older pupils
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Thu 5th Dec 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 27th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 2nd Jul 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 15th Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 17th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Thu 24th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Mon 18th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 9th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 5th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 22nd Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 18th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 30th Apr 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Wed 27th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 28th Feb 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 17th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 30th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 9th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 14th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Thu 10th Oct 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 3rd Feb 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 11th May 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 5th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 29th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 10th May 2021

Reserve Book
< Back