Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Motivating and Engaging Students Through Direct Instruction

Explore the technique of Direct Instruction and the research that supports it

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary

Course Reference: 8384WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
10am - 4pm Book Now

Ofsted’s amalgamation of research into effective teaching suggests ‘The most consistently replicated finding in this field is that pupils’ attainment is strongly affected by the quantity and pacing of instruction’. This course will unpick that statement and the research and provide practical strategies to help teachers provide effective instruction and explanations to capture students' imagination and interest.

  • How content knowledge affects teaching behaviours
  • How teaching behaviours impact on students conceptual knowledge
  • Effective ways of providing students with knowledge through direct instruction (DI)
  • How to promote effective discussions about outcomes and learning
  • Effective questions from students as well as teachers
  • Teachers use of voice, body language and the classroom environment
  • Effective structuring/sequencing of a learning session
  • Clarity of presentation-working within students’ scope for learning
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Mon 4th May 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 5th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 4th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 18th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Tue 7th Jul 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 9th Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 9th Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 14th May 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Thu 18th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 3rd Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 26th Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 21st May 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Fri 12th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 6th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 19th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 30th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Wed 18th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 30th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 27th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 10th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Tue 6th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Thu 25th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 19th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 5th Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 7th May 2021

Reserve Book
< Back