Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Practical Steps to Raising Boys' Achievement

How to create an environment where all boys can achieve

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house
Online Online

Suitable for: Teachers, middle and senior school leaders keen to implement practical, sustainable strategies for improving the performance of boys at school.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary
  • Further Education

Course Reference: 5007WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
10am - 4pm Book Now

This practical course examines useful and simple strategies to raise the achievement of boys. It focuses on ways to improve boys’ behaviour, attitudes and performance, while offering successful methods to ensure meaningful group work, successful target setting, and improved problem-solving skills.

  • Know where boys tend to underachieve and how they tend to underachieve
  • Use active teaching methods
  • Conduct effective group work that supports boys’ achievement
  • Develop problem-solving skills for boys
  • Develop note-making skills, including making MindMaps™
  • Improve literacy skills and memory in boys
  • Implement intervention that works

Sessions

Underachievement
  • Where in the curriculum do boys underachieve?
  • How do boys underachieve?
  • The impact of that underachievement
Teaching strategies
  • Using 3 active teaching methods
  • Great group work and problem-solving
  • Note-making and taking including making MindMaps ™
Changing cultures
  • Making boys feel that they belong and creating a positive culture
  • Self-esteem: can’t or won’t?
  • Working with outside partners and mentors
Intervention that works
  • Planning for progress
  • Improve literacy skills and memory
  • The power of evaluation – yours and theirs
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Mon 14th Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 19th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 9th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Tue 24th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 11th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 24th May 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Tue 20th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 13th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 28th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Thu 8th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 28th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 23rd Jun 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Fri 6th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 4th Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 5th May 2021

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Tue 29th Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 20th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 14th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
< Back

Online Delivery Available

While you may not be able to attend our course face-to-face, we're delighted to announce that many of our courses are now available for fully online delivery.

To find out more, please click here.

Close X