Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Stretching More Able Students in English

Use more effective strategies to improve the achievement and progress of more able students in high ability and mixed ability English groups at KS3 and KS4

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Both new and experienced English teachers who are looking to support their most able students in attaining outstanding learning and progress in both mixed ability and high ability groups will benefit from this course. Heads of department and other middle leaders will also find it very useful, as will teaching assistants assigned to support the learning of your most able students in English.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary

Course Reference: 7371WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

This course is designed to support colleagues in teaching the most able students to ensure the top grades whilst aiming for the highest levels of engagement and enjoyment. There will be a real focus in this course on the new GCSE examinations and KS4. Delegates will receive many practical ideas which they will be able to apply immediately in their classrooms. This course is led by English practitioners with a proven track record of success with this group of learners.

  • Plan effective, differentiated English lessons that challenge your most able learners at KS3 and KS4
  • Devise extension activities that combine both breadth and depth
  • Support able learners through classroom talk and questioning
  • Set high expectations and monitor progress through effective assessment
  • Tackle the underachievement of more able students
  • Enrich learning outside the classroom with some engaging and practical ideas

Sessions

Who are the ‘More Able’?
  • Defining ‘More Able’
  • Identifying ‘More Able’ students
  • Creating a High Challenge, Low Threat environment
Designing tasks for the ‘More Able’
  • Complexity of materials/tasks
  • Range
  • Independence
Differentiation in the classroom
  • Quality questioning
  • Guided groups
  • Assessment and its importance in the classroom
Broader issues
  • The challenges of GCSE
  • Ofsted’s view on the teaching of the most able
  • Transition arrangement and learning beyond the classroom
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Wed 20th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 25th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 6th Jul 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 12th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 16th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 16th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Fri 27th Sep 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 15th Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 27th Apr 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 12th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 26th Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 14th May 2021

Reserve Book
EXETER

Mon 14th Oct 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 31st Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 7th May 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 17th Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 8th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 12th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Tue 3rd Dec 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 27th Feb 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 16th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 6th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 26th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Thu 15th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Thu 3rd Oct 2019

Reserve Book

Tue 4th Feb 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 15th May 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 4th Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 12th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 5th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Thu 17th Oct 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 12th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 9th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 24th Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 18th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Tue 25th May 2021

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Tue 26th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 9th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 30th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 16th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 12th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Thu 1st Jul 2021

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Wed 13th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Wed 18th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 22nd Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 28th Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 2nd Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 23rd Jun 2021

Reserve Book
< Back