Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Self-Harm and Eating Disorders – Providing Positive Support

How to identify and support students before it's too late

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Pastoral leaders, heads of years, form tutors, boarding staff and other members of staff who want to provide effective support for self-harm and eating disorders.

Phases suitable for:

  • Secondary
  • Further Education
  • Special

Course Reference: 7486WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

Students who have recovered from self-harm and eating disorders often cite the pivotal role that a supportive school can play. This course draws on the experiences and best practice outlined by over 1000 school staff and hundreds of students who have overcome self-harm or eating disorders. We aim to provide you with a wide range of ideas and strategies, and renewed confidence in your ability to support students causing concern.

  • Understand what self-harm and eating disorders are and why people develop them
  • Use risk factors and warning signs to determine who needs support
  • Handle difficult conversations with students sensitively
  • Respond appropriately to self-harm incidents at school
  • Work with parents and peers to support student recovery
  • Use a range of practical strategies to support students in school
  • Make referrals to CAMHS when escalation is appropriate
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Tue 7th May 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 27th Sep 2019

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Wed 12th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 15th Nov 2019

Reserve Book
EXETER

Tue 2nd Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 23rd Sep 2019

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Fri 5th Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 21st Oct 2019

Reserve Book
LONDON

Wed 26th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 9th Dec 2019

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Wed 19th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Thu 5th Dec 2019

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Thu 13th Jun 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 7th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
NOTTINGHAM

Wed 3rd Jul 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 4th Oct 2019

Reserve Book
< Back