Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

Leading Literacy to Outstanding in the 2019 Ofsted Framework

Purposeful strategies for leading and inspiring outstanding literacy learning

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house

Suitable for: Teachers and heads of department working at primary, secondary or FE who want to aspire to an outstanding level of literacy in their school or college.

Phases suitable for:

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • Further Education

Course Reference: 8106WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
Timings: 10am - 4pm Book Now

This highly participatory course is aimed at supporting colleagues in finding a solution to one of the key challenges faced by schools today. You will discover the changing context for literacy, the challenges that school performance brings and also many practical and proven techniques to gain an outstanding judgement within the inspection framework whether your school is at primary, secondary or FE level.

  • An overview of what ‘outstanding’ can mean within the framework for inspection, avoiding the notion of set criteria
  • How to benchmark the position of your school
  • Priorities for developing literacy
  • The challenge of the EAL learner
  • The role of self-review in monitoring literacy across schools
  • Examples of good practice

Sessions

Why is literacy important?
  • The challenge
  • Literacy in the Ofsted handbook
  • Evaluation framework for literacy-activity
How to achieve outstanding
  • 10 principles of good practice
  • Good practice case studies
  • Beginning to identify areas for improvement in your own setting
Quality teaching for outstanding literacy learning
  • Outstanding EAL practice is effective teaching and learning for all
  • Promoting reading
  • Talk for Writing
Leading and managing an effective strategy for outstanding literacy practice
  • Reviewing priories for your setting
  • Action planning for literacy improvement in your specific context
  • Developing an effective communication strategy
Filter
City
BIRMINGHAM

Thu 5th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 24th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 1st Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 11th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 14th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Wed 11th Dec 2019

Reserve Book

Mon 10th Feb 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 30th Apr 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 28th Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 19th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 21st Jun 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Tue 14th Jan 2020

Reserve Book

Mon 18th May 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 12th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 2nd Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 30th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Thu 14th Nov 2019

Reserve Book

Fri 20th Mar 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 11th Jun 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 13th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 27th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Thu 13th May 2021

Reserve Book
< Back