Main Menu


In-house Training

Consultancy

Courses

Courses by Subject

Courses by Role

Courses by Phase

Courses by Country

Courses by Focus Area

From Bullying to Bereavement - Supporting Distressed Students

Promoting a culture of emotional health and well-being in your school

Open Training Course Open Course
Inhouse Training Course In-house
Online Online

Suitable for: Suitable for anyone who has regular contact with pupils experiencing emotional health issues including pastoral carers, year heads, support staff and senior leaders responsible for policy and professional training.

Phases suitable for:

  • Primary
  • Secondary

Course Reference: 8283WW
Price: £299.00 + VAT or hold in-house
10am - 4pm Book Now

This course will enable you to understand and provide a supportive response to those students who may undergo traumatic times in school. You will return to school equipped with strategies and techniques to help you support students dealing with grief, bullying, anger, stress, friendship and relationship issues and all other overwhelming emotions.

  • Develop knowledge of approaches to counselling in young people at school
  • Understand how to constructively relate to young people in acute distress when facing emotional trauma
  • Recognise the importance of excellent communication and interpersonal skills
  • Explore the factors which can cause, or prevent, anger and stress in the school community
  • Identify how to implement a positive school culture which encourages well-being for pupils and staff

Sessions

Connecting with young people
  • School-based counselling and mentoring – an overview of the main approaches
  • Recognising your limitations – referrals to professional agencies
  • Relating to students’ feelings of grief, loss, anger and distress
Developing your skills
  • The crucial importance of good interpersonal skills
  • Communication: listening, speaking, non-verbal
  • Practical case studies
Prevention is better than cure
  • Exploring the factors which can lead to distress and anger in the school community
  • Helping people to recognise the signs of mounting distress
  • Consider how early intervention procedures may be used to prevent an escalation
Creating a Safe and Supportive Ethos
  • The importance of a whole school approach to emotional well-being
  • Getting everyone involved – pupils, staff, governors, parents
  • Developing and maintaining a positive support culture
Filter
City
ONLINE

Fri 5th Jun 2020

BIRMINGHAM

Thu 19th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 2nd Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Wed 21st Apr 2021

Reserve Book
CARDIFF

Mon 5th Oct 2020

Reserve Book

Thu 25th Feb 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 18th Jun 2021

Reserve Book
LEEDS

Wed 11th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Wed 20th Jan 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 30th Apr 2021

Reserve Book
LONDON

Wed 16th Sep 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 2nd Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Tue 22nd Jun 2021

Reserve Book
MANCHESTER

Mon 7th Dec 2020

Reserve Book

Fri 19th Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Mon 5th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
NEWCASTLE

Wed 25th Nov 2020

Reserve Book

Tue 23rd Mar 2021

Reserve Book

Fri 9th Jul 2021

Reserve Book
< Back

Online Delivery Available

While you may not be able to attend our course face-to-face, we're delighted to announce that many of our courses are now available for fully online delivery.

To find out more, please click here.

Close X